This is the "Home" page of the "Volcanoes!" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Volcanoes!  

Last Updated: Sep 5, 2016 URL: http://kis.libguides.com/G7Volcanoes Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Books on Volcanoes

Cover Art
Volcanoes and Earthquakes - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff (Editor); James Putnam; Susanna Van Rose
Call Number: 551.2 V
ISBN: 0756607353
Publication Date: 2004-08-09
Photographs and text explain the causes and effects of volcanoes and earthquakes and examine specific occurrences throughout history.

Cover Art
Mount St. Helens Volcano - Carmen Bredeson
ISBN: 0766015521
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
An account of how and why Mount St. Helens erupted in May 1980 and the destruction it caused, and a discussion of the return of life to that area.

Cover Art
Restless Earth - U. S. National Geographic Society Staff
Call Number: REF 551.6 RES
ISBN: 0792270266
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
Provides information about the geologic and meteorologic processes that shape the Earth's environment, reporting on cataclysmic events such as volcanos, earthquakes, and tornadoes, and looking at some of history's most devastating natural disasters.

 

Global Volcanism Program

Click the photo above to learn more about The Smithsonian Institute National Museum of Natural History Global Volcanism Program.

 

All About Volcanoes!

 

Top 10 Deadliest Volcano Eruptions

Databases

Take advantage of these databases for reliable, accessible, and updated research. Username is kis; the default password is welcome.

  • EBSCO  Icon
    Broad, multi-subject database of journals, newspapers, biographies, primary source documents, country reports, photos, maps, and much more.
  • ABC-CLIO History Database  Icon
    World Geography, World History (Ancient through Modern), and American History databases. Factual/historical entries, journal articles, images, and primary source documents abound.
  • BrainPop  Icon
    BrainPop presents the entire range of subjects in animated lessons. Brief, fun, and informative lessons are great resources for both students and teachers alike. Username is kisbrain; password is kb5266.
  • World Book Advanced Encyclopedia  Icon
    Online encyclopedia, updated weekly. Ideal for cursory or exploratory research.
  • Opposing Viewpoints in Context  Icon
    Focused on controversial topics, the entire range of resources are available. Authoritative magazines, newspapers, academic journals, opinion pieces, websites, statistics, audio, video, transcripts, and photos provide you with all you need and more. The password is welcome.
  • Global Issues in Context  Icon
    Global Issues in Context ties together sources to present a rich analysis of issues - social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural - and headlines in world hot spots. Password is welcome.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip